2021 Scripts Playwrights

Headshot for Sheila Forsey.jpg
Sheila Forsey

Sheila Forsey, an Irish Times best-selling author, is new to playwriting. A deep interest in Ireland’s intricate and complex history of the last century has inspired her to write historical fiction.  Her fourth novel is due for publication this year with Poolbeg Press.  She is a graduate in creative writing from Maynooth University. Her writing has been selected as history- reading material for transition year in selected secondary schools.  Wexford based Sheila has a background and love for the theatre beginning many years ago in her local village of Kilmuckridge. Most recently, her play Teddy written under the mentorship of Wexford Playwrights Studio at Wexford Arts Centre and funded by Wexford County Council and Arts Council had a recorded staged reading under the direction of Ben Barnes. She is the tutor in creative writing for Gorey Adult Education.

Sean Denyer.jpeg
Seán Denyer

A doctor by trade, Seán started writing about 10 years ago.   His writing, to date, has focused on exploring queer lives in Ireland, both past and present.  His play with songs, ‘The Ref’ (a satirical response to the No Campaign during the Equal Marriage Referendum) won the Hilton Edwards Award at the Dublin Gay Theatre Festival 2015 and the National GALA Award for Arts and Literature, presented by the National Lesbian and Gay Federation 2017; ‘Passing On’ was nominated for Best New Play at the Brighton Fringe in 2019; ‘Decriminalisation Monologues’ which debuted at Dublin Pride Festival in 2019, was nominated for best new play in Brighton, Manchester and Prague Fringe Festivals, and subsequently won the 2020 National GALA award.  Seán’s short piece, ‘Dear Ireland part 2’ was selected for production at The Abbey Theatre in 2020.   In 2008, Seán, co-founded Acting Out, an LGBTQ+ community theatre group based in the Outhouse in Dublin.

Jason Kennealy.jpg
Jason Kennealy

A Playwright and screenwriter from Tramore, Co. Waterford, Jason Kennealy’s first short film appeared at the Richard Harris International Film Festival, and Waterford Film Festival. His first full-length play received a staged-reading at Knockanstockan 2019.  Jason won Short Story of the year at the National Student Media Awards, 2019 and Best Short Script at the 2016 Waterford Film Festival.